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OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY & HEALTH ADMINISTRATION 

January 11, 2024 

To:  All Businesses 

Re:  Annual Monetary Adjustment to Nevada OSHA Penalties 

The administrative penalties for workplace safety violations levied by the Nevada Occupational 
Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) against employers who are not in compliance have 
increased effective January 15. As a result of Senate Bill 40 - passed during Nevada’s 2019 
Legislative session - the Division of Industrial Relations automatically adopts penalties in 
alignment with those imposed by the Department of Labor OSHA enforcement program. 

The Federal Civil Penalties Inflation Adjustment Act Improvements Act of 2015 requires the 
Department of Labor to annually evaluate its civil monetary penalties to adjust for inflation no 
later than January 15 of each year. 

As a result, Nevada OSHA’s administrative penalties will increase by 3.24%, effective 
immediately for any penalty assessed on or after January 15, 2024, regardless of when the 
inspection was opened. Nevada OSHA’s penalties for violations of the Nevada Occupational 
Safety and Health Act are as follows: 

• For willful violations, where Nevada OSHA demonstrates that an employer knowingly
failed to comply with an OSHA standard, or demonstrated a plain indifference for
employee safety, the maximum penalty increases from $156,259 to $161,323.

• For repeated violations, maximum penalties will increase from $156,259 to $161,323.

• Penalties for serious violations, where workplace hazards that could cause an injury or
illness that would most likely result in death or serious physical harm, the maximum
penalty increases from $15,625 to $16,131.

• For each other-than-serious violation, the maximum penalty increases from $15,625
to $16,131.

• In instances where employers were previously cited and failed to correct violations, the
maximum penalty increases from $15,625 to $16,131 per day unabated beyond the
abatement date.

• For each posting requirement violation, the maximum penalty increases from $15,625
to $16,131.
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